4 months.

I am 17 weeks today. Which, to my mind, is 4 months. That sounds further along than 17 weeks. So I’m going with it.

I saw the GP on Monday with my list of woes. Possible UTI, annoying cough, dull ache in lower abdomen, sickness, heartburn.

She prescribed me ranitidine. 300mg. Got the medication home and when it came to bedtime, got one out to take it. Fuck. Me. It was HUGE. It was about the same size as a 5p piece and about as thick as a £1 coin. I tried taking it and gagged a couple of times. but managed to get one down me. The next day I called the GP and asked if he could prescribe me some smaller tablets or another solution. He ordered me some effervescent stuff, and told me to crush one of the existing tablets into some jam or honey and take it that way that night.

Jam? You’ve got to be kidding. It was like chewing a paracetamol. I had about 2 mouthfuls before retching and admitting defeat.

Picked up the effervescent stuff the next day, read the ingredients, they seemed as if they were lemon-flavoured. One glass of orange squash later, and it was almost unnoticeable! Wonderful!

Since then I’ve felt better, but I still struggle with drinking any volume of liquid without feeling sick. But I’m coughing less. The GP thought that my cough might be as a result of being irritated by the stomach acid, and I think the latest lot of meds are better for that.

I still feel utterly wiped out most of the time though. After 8 hours sleep (with a brief interlude around 4am when I woke up sweating that I had bound and submitted my masters thesis with no references or bibliography. I have never done a masters degree, nor do I intend to.) I was up for about 20 minutes before I needed to go back to bed to have another 2 hours.

Scan is on Friday 4th March. Keep thinking that’s ages away, but tomorrow we are exactly halfway through February. Where has the time gone?!

Seeing midwife tomorrow. Shall report back then.

Keep breathing.

TRP. xx

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Hyperemesis, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 months.

  1. Rhiannon says:

    I have horrible memories of pills crushed into jam from when I was younger. I’m glad they found you something easier to take!

  2. Flaf says:

    I’m so sorry you’re still feeling so grim, but I’m glad that it’s at least better than it was. I hope you’re back to feeling ‘a bit grotty’ soon, being able to breathe, eat, stand, walk and hell, even maybe eat and drink without worrying about it.

    This blog is ace though, I just wish you hadn’t had the material for it. It brings me back to reality when romantic visions of #3 form.

Leave a Reply

