Osteopath

Saw my lovely, lovely osteopath today. Her name is Vikki. A lot of what I have been experiencing has now been explained.

My left shoulder is pretty much shot to pieces. It’s so unreasonably painful, and I now know why. All I told her was that I was 18 weeks pregnant, and that I had a painful pelvis and left shoulder.

She felt around my lower back – my sacro-iliac joints at the rear of my pelvis are causing me grief. My left one is almost totally immobile, and for this reason the right one has been overcompensating. This explains the pain in my lower back on the right side.

She then investigated my shoulder. She said that both of my shoulders are up round my ears (bad habits I used to have) but the left one is considerably worse. She felt around the front of my neck and it felt like she twanged two pieces of taut string. She asked whether I had been sick/coughing a lot. I said I’d had hyperemesis. She said it’s no wonder that all of my neck and chest muscles are really tight – and wrenched both of my shoulders out. She asked if I slept on my left side because all of the joints on that side of my body (pelvis, shoulder, ribs) all seem compressed.

Bingo. So I have to sleep on my right side, and do a load of exercises. Pelvic tilts (leave it 2 days before I attempt these as she was manipulating my pelvis a lot earlier) and shoulder stretches. And then I have to see her again next week. And haemorrhage more cash.

Still, I can actually move my shoulder now, which is good.

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Osteopath, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

