Milestones and millstones

Now I have reached the fabled 20 weeks, I am wondering whether I really am half way, or actually way closer. If I were to give birth at 37 weeks, then I’m actually over half way. By quite a considerable margin. At 20+3 today, I’d only be 16+4 from “term”. However, if I were to go to 42 weeks, then I’m not actually half way until Sunday.

In any case, the next few weeks are full of milestones to reach:

  • 20 weeks is “half way”
  • 24 weeks is “viable”
  • 25 weeks is the the first routine GP visit (I say “routine” as Lord knows I have been one of their frequent fliers up to this point) and being given the precious MATB1 form
  • 28 weeks is a midwife appointment, and the beginning of count the kicks
  • 34 weeks is a repeat ultrasound scan to check for placental position (didn’t have this extra one first time round as the placenta managed to attach itself to somewhere non-critical) and also another midwife appointment to discuss birth options
  • 36 weeks, see GP
  • 38 weeks, see midwife
  • 41 weeks see midwife to monitor me and see if I can have a sweep to try and dislodge the baby if she hasn’t already dislodged herself.
  • 42 weeks – induction of labour at the hospital if you haven’t managed to go into labour yourself by that point. To be honest, I probably couldn’t get my own pants on without assistance by that point so I’d happily consent to it.

By my reckoning that’s a maximum of 6 weeks that I will be left to my own devices. The rate at which the weeks are ripping by, I don’t think It’ll feel like too long in between things.

I have a consultants’ appointment tomorrow at the hospital to see how I am after admission for hyperemesis, and to review my drugs, and to see about further scans of things because of the placenta.

Depending on my mood (which isn’t too bad today, despite starting the day with a brief conversation on the porcelain telephone) I see things things as milestones or millstones. I’m trying hard to be positive about things <hand now clamped over face to try and stop the coughing turning into vomit> which is a lot easier as I’m generally feeling a lot better, and have moved back home. Hoo bleeding rah.

I’m still going back to my Mum’s every week, but that’s because I’m using her 2.3m dining table to make some curtains, rather than because I need looking after.

I have started to listen to my hypnobirthing recordings a bit more often. My brain appears to be a lot more connected to the physical process of hatching a new person now I had the scan. Listening to the rainbow relaxation (not as hippy-treehugger as it sounds, honestly) is getting quite nice now. I find it nice to drop off to sleep to, and I wake up feeling relaxed and refreshed. But the birthing affirmations are a bit of a problem for me to believe in.

“My body fills with the sweet bloom of pregnancy”.

Um, you what?! You seriously think that hanging my head over a basin and heaving whilst simuktaneously filling up a whole mattress-sized TenaLady pad is the definition of “bloom”? You think that being unable to turn over in bed without the bones in your pelvis grinding together is “sweet”? If so, you need your head examining.

Another one I take issue with is “I eat only nutritious food for my baby and me”. Only nutritious food? Frankly, if it’s got a calorific value, and my stomach doesn’t reject it, then it’s nutritious. It’s nothing to do with the fact that I’ve just hoofed 3 mini pork and pickle pies. Honest. You do what you need to to get through it.

Just hearing those two things a couple of times is enough to trip my “warning- large amounts of BS contained within” detector. And then I sort of zone out.

I’ll hopefully report back with more consultant stuff tomorrow. Hope she is nice.

Keep breathing.

TRP x

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Hyperemesis, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

