Laughter is the best medicine?

Saw the midwife yesterday.

28 weeks now. Baby is still breech, blood pressure absolutely fine, no protein in urine, but I did have a trace of glucose. Therefore it’s back to the midwife in 2 weeks to see if there’s glucose in my urine then. If there is, it’s off to the hospital to have a Glucose Tolerance Test. This involves drinking something very sugary and then going back 2 hours later to see how my body is dealing with the sugar hit. If it’s having problems it can be an indicator of Gestational Diabetes.

They are also trying to do classes to take everyone through their 34-week appointment at a childrens’ centre in a group rather than taking up a double appointment with the midwife to do it. I asked for the midwife appointment option as although he was well-behaved yesterday (and he was an absolute angel to be fair), trying to placate the Boy sitting through a group appointment for a long time would result in him trashing the joint.

Had my blood taken yesterday too – H had engineered a working from home afternoon to help in case I needed to go and see a friend to help with breastfeeding stuff. She had an horrific time with her first child, and was going in yesterday for an elective section. It all ended happily, so I wasn’t needed for the time being. H was able to come and perform crowd control duties for the Boy so I could get on with being pathetic about having my blood taken (hate hate hate it). At least it’s over and done with. Just hope everything comes back fine.

If anything else does go wrong, I think I’ll just laugh. I am so used to having everything go wrong, I sort of sit back and let it wash over me. Worst case scenarios are: I am induced, or I end up with a section. I’ve done the induction before, and I’m not terrified of a section, so I can approach either option with a hope of a reasonable prognosis and no fear. Stewing about it will only send my blood pressure up and at the moment it’s about the only thing that’s normal.

Sickness is still rearing its ugly head when I don’t take the stemetil, so I’m still on that. Need to see the GP for another script actually. Having Braxton-Hicks contractions too (now in fact). Apart from that, I’m still breathing.

Hope you are too.

TRP. x

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Birth, Children, Hyperemesis, Pregnancy, Toddler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laughter is the best medicine?

  1. Lucy says:

    As you know I had a pregnant which skipped sublime and was just fracking ridiculous from start to end. I too advocate laughing in the face of fate, because she seems no more and no less ferocious with you and it is less stressful than crying or railing in fury. My only trouble with laughing, was laughing too hard. As we know where THAT sort of reckless behaviour gets us! x x x

  2. mominrome says:

    If I were you, I wouldn’t actually underestimate the “breathing factor”.
    I have something called rynithis of pregnancy which doesn’t allow me to breath well.

    …It’s 8 months now…
    You know what I mean?!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

