Well this is a first.

I went back for a re-dip of my urine to check for Gestational Diabetes. And it was fine.

This is massive news. Huge. This is the first thing that has Not Gone Wrong with this pregnancy so far. Amazing! It’s only taken 30 weeks!

I’m 31 weeks today. So baby could be here as early as 6 weeks’ time, or as late as 11 weeks’ time.

I feel like I am in utter limbo, unable to plan for any eventuality. Last time I was pregnant, it was all plain sailing (well, barring the sickness, the knackered pelvis, etc. etc.) until 37 weeks when I started itching with Obstetric Cholestasis. I self-referred to the Day assessment unit, they monitored me (all fine) took bloods (ouch), grilled me on the contents of the toilet after I’d finished with it (paler stools, darker urine), and sent me off to await the bloods results. Which came back positive. So I had to take lots of pills – Ursodeoxycholic Acid, and Vitamin K (pleasant, vanilla flavoured, and crunchy). This meant that I was induced. There is a 60% chance that I’ll get it again.

So I don’t want to start planning a whiff-of-patchouli-oil-type waterbirth if the odds are stacked against it happening. I know what I’m like. I’ll huff about it, obsess about it a bit, and generally be pissed off with my lot if I don’t get it.

Another complicating factor – baby is breech. And another complicating factor – at last glance, I had a low-lying placenta. According to the website of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, around 10% of people who are diagnosed with a low-lying placenta at their 20-week scan continue to have a low-lying placenta (placenta praevia) that will necessitate a sunroof exit from the uterus rather than the more traditional route. Another interesting thing I read on that website is that if your placenta is low-lying beyond 20 weeks, it can prevent baby from getting into a normal head down (cephalic) position for birth. At the moment, baby is stubbornly breech. I keep waking up with a head relatively low down, but we just can’t seem to make it stick no matter which way I contort myself to try and help.

Are you seeing where I am going with this?

60% chance of Obstetric Cholestasis + (10% chance of Placenta Praevia × stubbornly breech baby hinting at something being in the way of turning head down) ÷ The Law of Sod (I don’t call myself The Rubbish Pregno for nothing) = this one will end up coming out of the sunroof.

But if I am this pessimistic, will my negativity become a self-fulfilling prophecy? If I expect the worst, is it bound to happen?

Literally the ONLY thing in my birth preferences is that if I need cannulating, I want it doing by a doctor, as the last 2 attempts at cannulation have left me with a total of 11 holes in my arms/hands. This has been the worst bit of the whole hospital experience so far. It usually starts with a midwife “having a go” then getting a more senior midwife to do it, then a doctor. I’m asking to just cut the crap and go for the doctor. Or if there is a spare anaesthetist, all to the good. They can cannulate anything, allegedly!

So, my next appointment is for a re-scan at 34 weeks. Then a midwife a few days later to go through everything about my pregnancy so far to discuss options for labour and delivery. Which, at the very least, I expect to be a big, fat “we can’t plan anything until further rescan at 37 weeks”. I wish I were joking…

Keep breathing.

TRP x

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Birth, Hyperemesis, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well this is a first.

  1. nikhk says:

    If it’s any help at all, the sunroof-for-breech option ain’t so bad (and this from the girl who was determined to have a lovely natural birth with maybe a whiff of gas and air at most). My story is on BTWiki if you want a look – oh, and my cannula was done by a lovely anaesthetist who even froze my hand first (and got it in my crap vein first go). Shout if you want to know anything.
    X

  2. Been there with the low lying placenta plus upside down baby – really recommend acupuncture – mine shifted nearly 5cms (and also a look at the guidelines around what various places feel comfortable from memory Wales is happy with a couple of cms closer than England?)

    And on cannulas I so get you – absolute lowest moment of my life to date was someone having fouled up on and it had clotted trying to force the clot back into my hand – I screamed… was worse than childbirth… *shudders*

    But good news about the GD – well done your body!

Leave a Reply

