Waiting for the itch.

I was in a DIY store earlier, getting things for all of those little niggly jobs that have needed doing for bloody ages but have been putting them off due to the cost of doing them all. DIY store having closing down sale = savings, so I went in with the boy in his pushchair to have a nosey at what they had left. A lot of it looked like the TV pictures we saw of Russia in the 1980s. Bare shelves, one or two lonesome products left there that nobody wanted. Other aisles were more plentiful, including the paint aisle. This was great as I needed paint for a ceiling, woodstain for outdoor windowsills, and paint for the hallway.

As I was wandering down the paint aisle, I thought “oooh that’s itchy” and before I knew it I was scratching my right palm. I thought nothing of it apart from “oooh it’s supposed to mean you’re coming into some money…” Then I remembered the last time I had an itchy palm. And I stopped. And I thought carefully.

Shit. Obstetric Cholestasis.

OC is a disorder of the liver. The itching is caused by something getting into your blood stream that shouldn’t be there. This is caused by your liver letting it get there. The itching starts on your palms and the soles of your feet. No rash. If you’ve had it once there is a 60% chance you’ll get it again. Other symptoms include darker urine than normal, and paler stools than normal. Delightful.

So, now I have felt an itch in that place, I’m just waiting. Waiting for the rest of the itch to appear, and for me to go to the day assessment unit, and be diagnosed with it. Just like last time.

They like to induce babies a bit earlier than their due date with OC. I was induced at 38 weeks last time. The treatment protocol is taking some capsules of ursodeoxycholic acid and some vitamin K tablets (vitamin K helps the blood to clot – liver function being impaired means that liver might not be producing enough vit K, therefore they put you on this to help with clotting issues that might arise). I quite liked the vitamin K tablets last time – like crunchy vanilla-flavoured smarties!

I’m hoping that it was “just an itch” but bracing myself for the alternative. 38 weeks is only 4 weeks away.

Keep breathing.

TRP. x

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Birth, Pregnancy, Toddler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting for the itch.

  1. Oh no!

    Fingers and toes crossed it was just a normal itch and not a one of those sort itches xxx

  2. Bugger, I’m really hoping you are about to win the lottery rather than the OC raffle prize. xxx

Leave a Reply

