A mixed bag

Today was 34-week-scan-day.

I left home just after 11am to make it to the hospital/get parked/placate toddler/waddle to Maternity ultrasound in time for my appointment at midday. Sure enough, parking was a nightmare, followed by whingy toddler (strapped in pushchair, a wise decision), and we made it with about 5 minutes to spare.

If you take a toddler to an appointment like this, 3 top tips: 1. strap them into the pushchair – it’s not because they can’t walk, it’s a restraint device! 2. Take snacks. Silence can be bought, and the price is food. 3. If you have an iPhone, firstly, make sure it is insured, and secondly, load it with a few toddler games. This will get you through lots of boring, sitting waiting around time.

Went into the scan room at about 12.20 (having bartered 3 sausage rolls for reasonably compliant behaviour from The Boy).

And Lo! She was head down. Little. Minx. I have been suffering with her head under my ribs until YESTERDAY. And she turns. The night before the bloody scan.

One problem down, one to go.

Placenta is over the left hand side of bump, so no wonder I haven’t been feeling any movements over that area.

“Ok, there is the placenta… but I can’t see where it is because baby’s head is in the way. Would you mind if we did a TV scan?”

I replied in general terms that I don’t bloody care what goes up there right now, I just want to know what’s actually going on.

The sonographer switched to using the probe, describing it as probably being “a little uncomfortable, but not as bad as a smear”. Either I have a wizard’s sleeve, or a really high discomfort threshold because that was NOTHING like a smear (which, last time I had one, 3 months post-birth, reduced me to tears). So ladies, don’t be afraid if you get asked to have a TV scan. They really aren’t that bad at all.

The thing I was most concerned about was the bloody MARVELLOUS view The Boy had of everything the sonographer was doing with the probe. Sob. I sincerely hope he doesn’t choose to recall that little sequence of the day and tell anyone later.

Sonographer was able to see the placenta, and said it was about 13mm from the exit. Clinical protocol at this hospital means that it has to be 25mm away before they are happy and consider you to be low-risk. So, she immediately added my name to the list of the consultant’s clinic and sent me off to wait and see the consultant.

The riot act was then read to me by said consultant. Any hint of bleeding – call or come straight to the hospital, get someone else to drive. Any hint of waters leaking – straight to hospital, get someone else to drive. Have you packed your hospital bag? No? Do it. Today. Don’t go anywhere which is ridiculously far from a hospital. Clinic appointment and re-scan in 2 weeks, but if there is the merest hint of anything being wrong when we see you, we’d probably like to keep you in, so bring your hospital bag with you. If nothing were to move from this point, best and safest option is a section.

All rather scary then.

Called the husband at work. Repeated the above. He was, um… relatively silent. He called back about 2 hours later and was much chattier and had got his head around it, and everything would be fine. He admitted that he was more than a touch shocked and one of his team took him out for a coffee to allow him to “restore factory settings”. Bless.

So, next appointment is on 30th June. Consultant and Scan. So I get to see her for a 4th time. The picture from today looked like she was pouting a bit.

No idea where she gets that from…

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Birth, Pregnancy, Toddler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A mixed bag

  1. Might be worth having a look at the NICE guidelines around distance, from memory between 2mm and 2.5mm you could argue to see how it goes with all the monitoring etc during labour – up to you but more info is always useful I think (page 9 of this has some statistics http://www.rcog.org.uk/files/rcog-corp/GTG27PlacentaPraeviaJanuary2011.pdf)

    And I’ll send lots of move placenta vibes in your direction

Leave a Reply

