Let the waiting commence.

Um, yeah, so that moaning I’ve been doing about everything for the past 48 hours? It may have been The Arse.

The Arse is a phenomenon well known amongst the online community I frequent. It refers to the very end stage of pregnancy, and the absolutely foul, vile temper and associated hormonal wailings that you get in the last 24-48 hours before you go into labour. At the point where you would rugby-tackle someone to the floor to prise open their hand if they offered you a rusty, blunt spoon to do your own c-section, and have either been raging or in tears- that’s The Arse.

At about 11.30pm there was an almighty “clunk” from inside the bump as I was lying on the sofa. I said to the husband “I don’t know what the fuck she just did in there but there was an almighty clunk”. I lay there for a few more minutes, and then decided to go to the loo, at which point there was a glug of fluid. I went to the loo, and wiped, and sure enough- more clear fluid with a pink tinge. Went downstairs and called the hospital. Bastards were engaged. Called my Mum. She’s booked for childcare duty, and lives 90 mins away by car. Called hospital again. They said it might be just late pregnancy fluid discharge. Felt like saying “um, no. I know what that’s like and This Is Different.” we agreed that the plan of action would be to put a pad on, call them in a couple of hours if I’d soaked a pad. They’d arrange for me to come in and be checked.

When I was on the phone to them, there wasn’t even a hint of there being any contractions.

2 hours later and I’m taking pauses between typing as I need to concentrate on breathing. Not much else on the waters front though- mainly because I’m lying down, so gravity’s not working.

The irony? The Boy was induced at 38+0 and showed up at 38+3. I had a carefully planned blog entry lined up for later about how, once it was past 8.42am, 38+3, I would now be the most pregnant that I’d ever been. Is the competitive little minx trying to race her brother?

This could take a long while yet though I’ll keep you posted.

Keep breathing.

TRP. Xx

About therubbishpregno

30-something Mum to a toddler. I am pregnant, and I am rubbish at it. My body doesn't seem to be able to cope with daily life as well as pregnancy, so I have had to put my life on hold while I grow another person...
This entry was posted in Birth, Osteopath, Pregnancy, Toddler. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the waiting commence.

  1. Catherine says:

    Wahey! Hope it’s a lovely, non-forceps experience this time around 🙂

  2. Seen the wonderful news on Twitter! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

